Why some juices are not vegan

Animal products can sometimes be found in foods that we think should actually be vegan. However, they are often found in flavourings, additives or so-called technical adjuvants. Since they do not always have to be labelled, it is often difficult to identify whether the food is vegan or not. In the case of juice production, there are three reasons why juices may not be vegan:

  • Technical additives for clarifying wine and juices: gelatine.
  • Non-vegan additives for refining: for example honey
  • Added vitamins that are not of vegan origin: for example, non-vegan vitamin D3

So you see, it is not easy to see which products contain hidden animal substances or the residues of animal substances.

Why some juices contain gelatine

Gelatine is often used to clarify juices - that is, to filter out natural cloudy substances. Gelatine is obtained from animal collagen, which is found in bones, for example. In the clarification process, the gelatine is added to the juice, it binds the natural cloudy substances and is then removed again. However, it cannot be guaranteed that 100% of the animal gelatine has been removed, residues can always remain.

Tip: naturally cloudy juice without gelatine

The clarification process with gelatine is often used for clear juices, such as clear apple juice. If you want to be sure that the juice does not contain gelatine due to the clarification process, you can look for the label 'naturally cloudy'. This is because naturally cloudy juices are generally not clarified.

Vegan juices from Rabenhorst

However, this process is not used by all juice producers. At Rabenhorst, we do not use gelatine in our juice production. Therefore, our Rabenhorst juices in the categories of pure juice, pure juice from first pressing, vegetable juice, smoothie and nectar as well as our seasoning juices and organic shots are basically vegan. All vegan juices are labelled accordingly on the product pages of our website. You will also find the labelling on the labels of the bottles.

Our non-vegan juices

Nevertheless, there are a few exceptions in our range that are not vegan. These exceptions are the products that are refined with honey. This applies to the following Rabenhorst juices:

  • Rabenhorst Winter Warmer (honey)
  • Rabenhorst Hot Apple-Ginger (honey)
  • Rabenhorst Eisenblut (honey)

That's why you should always look for the "vegan" label on our Rabenhorst juices, too, if you prefer a vegan juice.


When is juice vegan?

The basic state of a juice is always vegan due to its ingredients, but juices are often clarified in the production process with animal products such as gelatine. This means that natural cloudy substances are filtered out with the help of gelatine. This makes the juice clear. If this process is used, the juice is no longer vegan afterwards, because it may still contain slight residues of gelatine. Furthermore, if a juice is refined with honey or non-vegan additives are added, it is no longer vegan.

Are the juices from Rabenhorst vegan?

In general, our juices from Rabenhorst are vegan. However, we have a few exceptions, because a few juices are refined with honey. To be sure if the juice is vegan, you can check the label, because we have awarded our vegan juices.

Is the glue on the bottle labels vegan?

Casein glue, which contains cow's milk components and is therefore not vegan, is often used to attach labels to glass bottles. However, at Rabenhorst we only use vegan label adhesive that does not contain caseins. So if you want to buy a completely vegan juice, you should not only pay attention to its ingredients, but also to the packaging materials used.