What is pasteurisation?

Pasteurisation or pasteurising involves heating the juice to a temperature of between 60-90°C for a short period to kill micro-organisms. Pasteurisation is named after the French biologist Louis Pasteur. Louis Pasteur discovered that when the temperature is increased for a short period, most micro-organisms are killed without changing the characteristics of a product too much. This process increases the shelf life of foodstuffs.

Pasteurised milk is perhaps its most well-known application. Milk is pasteurised by heating it to a temperature of between 72-75°C for a period of 15 – 40 seconds before being cooled back down again immediately. This process kills approximately 99.5 percent of all micro-organisms in the milk. Pasteurised milk can be stored in a fridge for up to 6 days. Pasteurisation is a legal requirement for all milk types apart from untreated and full-cream milk.  

Pasteurisation is also used for other foodstuffs such as wine, fruit juice and beer. The shelf life of our Rabenhorst juices is increased using a specially developed procedure that draws on the methods discovered by Louis Pasteur. The guaranteed shelf life of our products varies between 14 and 24 months.

Was bedeutet Pasteurisierung?

Pasteurisierung, oder auch Pasteurisation, ist die kurzzeitige Erhitzung auf 60-90°C zur Abtötung von Mikroorganismen. Die Pasteurisierung ist nach dem französischen Biologen Louis Pasteur benannt. Er hatte erkannt, dass durch kurzzeitige Erhitzung die meisten Mikroorganismen abgetötet werden, ohne dass das Produkt dadurch seine Eigenschaften wesentlich verändert. Bei Lebensmitteln wird hierdurch die Haltbarkeit gesteigert.

Am bekanntesten ist die Pasteurisierung von Milch. Die Milch wird dabei für eine Dauer von 15-40 Sekunden auf 72-75°C erhitzt und danach sofort wieder abgekühlt. Etwa 99,5 Prozent aller Keime in der Milch werden dabei abgetötet. Pasteurisierte Milch ist im Kühlschrank bis zu 6 Tage haltbar. Außer für Roh- und Vorzugsmilch ist die Pasteurisierung für alle Milchsorten gesetzlich vorgeschrieben.

Pasteurisierung wird auch bei anderen Lebensmitteln wie Wein, Fruchtsaft oder Bier angewandt. Unsere Rabenhorst Säfte werden nach einem speziell entwickelten Verfahren, das sich an dem von Louis Pasteur anlehnt, haltbar gemacht. Dabei liegt die von uns garantierte Mindesthaltbarkeit je nach Produkt zwischen 14-36 Monaten.